The Four Bases of a Bodhisattva's Enlightened Mind


"The Bodhisattva Sutra" (p.19)


PART 1 Brain Waves Reveal the Complete Process of a Meditation

1 Everything Is Determined by the Conditions


● The Four Bases of a Bodhisattva's Enlightened Mind

    Now, what are a Bodhisattva's basic principles of action?

As I mentioned earlier, it is Divine Loving Kindness, Divine Pity, Divine Praise and Divine Detachment.


    What is Divine Loving Kindness?

This is the working of the mind which loves every being in the universe.

What is the difference between Loving Kindness and attachment?

Attachment is based on one's mental disposition and means being attached to the object beyond necessity.

Loving Kindness, however, is loving in accordance with a certain law, the law which governs this universe, as well as the world which possesses all energy beyond this universe.

Based on this law, or "Truth," Loving Kindness means to value the attempt by beings to attain higher worlds or the cessation of afflictions.

It means to be happy that they are striving to attain these states, and to love and encourage them.

Therefore, MSA based on Divine Loving Kindness increases spiritual love, which results in the veneration of many people.


    What is Divine Pity, the second basis of a Bodhisattva's enlightened mind?

Divine Pity is a practice of having true pity for an object, after understanding the cause of its suffering.

These beings who have karmic connections with the Bodhisattva are unable to practice the truth and deny it because of their past evil deeds or their lack of virtue.

Therefore, they are suffering now in this world, or will suffer in the future.

Or they will be reborn in the Hell of Atrocious Pain, or the animal realm or the realm of inferior spirits, the essence of the world of suffering.

In short, it is to feel sorry for the object from the heart.

It is "Great Sorrow" exercised on a solid logical basis.

The Bodhisattva may use at times severe methods when approaching beings due to this practice, but their MSA will never bring disadvantage to these beings.

It can only benefit them.

Thus a Bodhisattva's MSA is justified and they gain great benefit again.


    The third basis of a Bodhisattva's enlightened mind is Divine Praise.

Divine Praise is the practice of praising someone when he or she is superior to you in terms of virtuous deeds, meritorious deeds, the practice of peace and the practice of the law.

By this practice, the Bodhisattva establishes the path himself.

This should be easy to understand.

Praise is a kind of memory fixation of the object, to meditate on the object over and over.
In this way, you imitate the virtuous deeds, meritorious deeds, the practice of peace and the practice of the truth of that object.

Thus the Bodhisattva eventually becomes the same as the object superior to himself.


    The fourth basis is Divine Detachment.

Divine Detachment does not mean that you can do anything you want.

Divine Detachment is the practice of not being attached to the joy gained as a result of the three great practices which I have just mentioned: Divine Loving Kindness, Divine Pity and Divine Praise.

And it means not moving your mind at all if your past unvirtuous deeds manifest, the unvirtuous deeds done before you committed yourself to the path of the truth.

It is remaining detached no matter how much you are hurt mentally, verbally and physically, and continuing to do the three great practices.

This ultimate teaching is explicitly expressed in the short prayer vow "I make my suffering my joy, and I make the others' suffering my own suffering."

What happens as a result of this practice?

The great amount of merit acquired by the three great practices accumulates in our Five Constituents, that is, Form-Appearance, Sensation, Imagery, Formation of Experience and Discrimination.




頁案内 Page Navigation

(Contents) The Bodhisattva Sutra

(Previous) Attachment, Hatred and Obscuration Increase Suffering



日本語版 Japanese Edition